Digging into InDesign: A Newbie’s Try

The purpose of this assignment was to introduce students to InDesign. I chose to create a design for a magazine spread featuring an article titled, Choose the Light, by Vern P. Stanfill.

COMM 130 week 5 magazine draft Julie Christensen 5.20

Considering Content and Audience

Because light was the theme of this article, I chose photos that represented light. I also wanted a warm color scheme that would complement the subject matter. Women are the target audience for this article. I kept that in mind too as I chose photos, colors and design layout. I wanted to create a design that was soft, peaceful, and inspiring.

COMM 130 week 5 magazine draft Julie Christensen 5.202

Design 101

With my limited (by limited, I mean none) experience with InDesign, imagining what I wanted was much simpler than actually achieving it on the page. Because of this, I knew I needed to keep it simple. I focused on creating clear communication over trying to design a sophisticated spread. The text aligns with the photos and pull-out quote. Headings are simple and add some color.

COMM 130 week 5 magazine draft Julie Christensen 5.203

Lessons Learned

I’m excited about the possibilities InDesign offers, but I still have a long way to go. I stuck my foot in the pool with this project as I learned how to wrap text, use contrasting typography types, add color boxes, and manipulate photos. I’m looking forward to learning more.

All About Photography

All the photos in this spread came from Unsplash.com. Below are the original photos and their links:

planetmitch-aunger-53551.jpg

Photo credit: Unsplash.com 

emma-simpson-153970.jpg

Photo credit: Unsplash.com

Leave a Reply

